| Standalone course: 24 states |
|---|
| California | Required: standalone course | Class of 2031 | One-semester (one-term) standalone personal finance course | AB 2927 (Pupil instruction: high school graduation requirements: personal finance) | View page |
|---|
| Connecticut | Required: standalone course | Class of 2027 | At least one-half (0.5) credit in personal financial management and financial literacy | Public Act 23-21 (personal financial management / financial literacy graduation requirement) | View page |
|---|
| Delaware | Required: standalone course | Class of 2029 | One-half (0.5) credit standalone personal finance course | House Substitute 1 for HB 203 | View page |
|---|
| Florida | Required: standalone course | Class of 2027 | One-half (0.5) credit standalone personal financial literacy & money management course | SB 1054 (2022) — Dorothy L. Hukill Financial Literacy Act; Fla. Stat. 1003.4282(3)(h); Rule 6A-1.09412, F.A.C. | View page |
|---|
| Georgia | Required: standalone course | Class of 2028 | At least one-half (0.5) credit in financial literacy, in grade 11 or 12 | O.C.G.A. §20-2-149.4 (added by SB 220, 2022 Ga. Laws 723) | View page |
|---|
| Indiana | Required: standalone course | Class of 2028 | A standalone Personal Financial Responsibility course | SEA 35 (2023) — Personal Financial Responsibility; IC 20-30-5-19 | View page |
|---|
| Kansas | Required: standalone course | Class of 2027 | One-half (0.5) credit, one-semester standalone personal financial literacy course | Kansas State Board of Education graduation requirement (K.A.R. 91-31-35), grounded in the personal-financial-literacy mandate under K.S.A. 72-3236 | View page |
|---|
| Kentucky | Required: standalone course | Class of 2029 | One (1) full credit, standalone financial literacy course | HB 342 (2025) — AN ACT relating to financial literacy | View page |
|---|
| Louisiana | Required: standalone course | Class of 2028 | One unit (full credit), standalone Financial Literacy course (LDOE course code 160345) | HB 103 (2023) → Act 267, La. R.S. 17:270; amended by Act 48 of 2025 (added postsecondary financial-aid content) | View page |
|---|
| Michigan | Required: standalone course | Class of 2028 | One-half (0.5) credit standalone personal finance course | HB 5190 (Public Act 148 of 2022) | View page |
|---|
| Minnesota | Required: standalone course | Class of 2028 | Not specified in our data | 2023 education omnibus; Minn. Stat. 120B.024 (personal finance graduation requirement) | View page |
|---|
| Missouri | Required: standalone course | Already in effect (since 2006; amended 2019) | One-half (0.5) credit personal finance | 5 CSR 20-100.190 — Missouri Code of State Regulations, Graduation Requirements for Students in Public High Schools (Personal Finance, 0.5 credit) | View page |
|---|
| Nebraska | Required: standalone course | Class of 2024 | Not specified in our data | LB 452 (2021) — Financial Literacy Act; Neb. Rev. Stat. 79-3001 to 79-3003 | View page |
|---|
| North Carolina | Required: standalone course | Class of 2024 | One (1.0) credit Economics and Personal Finance course | HB 924 (2019) — Economics and Personal Finance (EPF) | View page |
|---|
| Ohio | Required: standalone course | Class of 2026 | One-half (0.5) unit standalone financial literacy course | HB 110 (2021 budget) → ORC 3313.603 financial literacy requirement | View page |
|---|
| Oregon | Required: standalone course | Class of 2027 | One-half (0.5) credit Personal Financial Education (plus a separate Higher Education & Career Path Skills credit under SB 3) | SB 3 (2023) — Personal Financial Education diploma requirement | View page |
|---|
| Pennsylvania | Required: standalone course | Class of 2030 | At least one-half (0.5) credit personal finance course, taken in grades 9-12 | Act No. 35 of 2023 | View page |
|---|
| South Carolina | Required: standalone course | Class of 2027 | One-half (0.5) credit personal finance (Personal Finance course code 5141) | Personal finance graduation requirement (state budget proviso / S.16 pathway); SBE course standards | View page |
|---|
| Tennessee | Required: standalone course | Class of 2013 | One-half (0.5) credit personal finance | Personal finance graduation requirement (Public Chapter, ~2011); SBE High School Policy 2.103 | View page |
|---|
| Texas | Required: standalone course | Class of 2030 | One-half (0.5) credit in personal financial literacy (one semester) | HB 27 (89th Legislature, 2025); Tex. Educ. Code §28.025(b-1)(4) | View page |
|---|
| Utah | Required: standalone course | Class of 2008 | One-half (0.5) credit General Financial Literacy (GFL) course | General Financial Literacy (GFL) requirement (State Board; ~2004) | View page |
|---|
| Virginia | Required: standalone course | Class of 2015 | One (1.0) credit Economics and Personal Finance (EPF) course | Va. Code 22.1-200.03 — Economics & Financial Literacy (Board of Education, ~2009) | View page |
|---|
| West Virginia | Required: standalone course | Class of 2028 | Personal finance course: one-half credit in statute (W. Va. Code 18-2-7c); WVDE Policy 2510 guidance lists 1 full credit (course code 1451) | HB 3113 (2023) + State BOE Policy 2510 (personal finance graduation requirement) | View page |
|---|
| Wisconsin | Required: standalone course | Class of 2028 | One-half (0.5) credit personal financial literacy | 2023 Wisconsin Act 60 | View page |
|---|
| Inside another course: 15 states |
|---|
| Alabama | Required: inside another course | Not listed | Personal finance delivered within the required 1-credit Career Preparedness course | Career Preparedness requirement (State Board of Education / Alabama Course of Study) | View page |
|---|
| Arizona | Required: inside another course | Not listed | 0.5 credit, delivered within the existing required Economics half-credit; no additional credit was added by SB 1184 | SB 1184 (2019) — Laws 2019, Chapter 84 — amending A.R.S. §15-701.01; State Seal of Personal Finance Proficiency under A.R.S. §15-260 | View page |
|---|
| Arkansas | Required: inside another course | Class of 2021 | Typically 0.5 credit, varying by which of six ADE-approved course options a district uses | Act 480 of 2017 (Personal Finance and Job Readiness Act, HB1442) plus companion Act 466 of 2017 | View page |
|---|
| Idaho | Required: inside another course | Class of 2024 | 1.0 credit — 'Economics and Financial Literacy,' one line item within the state's 5-credit Social Studies requirement | House Bill 92 (2023), Idaho Code § 33-1615; implementing State Board rule IDAPA 08.02.03.105 | View page |
|---|
| Illinois | Required: inside another course | Not listed | Minimum of 50 minutes per day for 9 weeks somewhere in grades 9-12 (an instructional-time rule, not a credit) | 105 ILCS 5/27-305 (Consumer Education), recodified from 5/27-12.1 by P.A. 104-391; P.A. 102-0366 (SB 1830, 2021) allows a financial-literacy course to satisfy up to one semester of the social-studies credit | View page |
|---|
| Iowa | Required: inside another course | Class of 2021 | One-half (0.5) unit / one semester of financial literacy | Iowa Code §256.11(5)(k); enacted by 2018 Iowa Acts (SF 475 / SF 2415), cohort set by SF 139 (2019), embedded-delivery option added by SF 391 (2023) | View page |
|---|
| Maine | Required: inside another course | Not listed | Personal finance embedded within the required 2 years of social studies and history; no separate credit minimum for personal finance alone | 20-A MRSA §4722, as amended by P.L. 2013, c. 244 (LD 843, 'An Act to Promote the Financial Literacy of High School Students') | View page |
|---|
| Mississippi | Required: inside another course | Not listed | One-half (0.5) credit of personal finance within the required yearlong College & Career Readiness course | College and Career Readiness (CCR) course requirement (State Board of Education) | View page |
|---|
| Montana | Required: inside another course | Class of 2026 | 0.5 credit in 'economics or financial literacy' (the two are interchangeable), within the state's 20-credit graduation minimum; deliverable via social studies, math, or CTE | ARM 10.55.905 (Montana Board of Public Education graduation-standards rule, approved March 2023); companion House Bill 535 (2023) added a statutory definition of 'financial literacy' | View page |
|---|
| Nevada | Required: inside another course | Class of 2023 | One-half (0.5) credit of Economics (all diploma types), which must incorporate the state's financial-literacy content standards | SB 249 (2017) — Statutes of Nevada 2017, Chapter 456; codified at NRS 389.074. Amended by SB 314 (2019), AB 274 (2023), and SB 229 (2025). | View page |
|---|
| New Jersey | Required: inside another course | Class of 2014 | 2.5 credits in 'financial, economic, business, and entrepreneurial literacy' (roughly a half-year equivalent), which may be spread across one or more qualifying courses | N.J.A.C. 6A:8-5.1(a)(1)(v) (2.5-credit HS graduation mandate); N.J.S.A. 18A:35-4.34 (2018, grades 6-8 instruction); standards issued via 2020 NJSLS Standard 9.1 | View page |
|---|
| New Mexico | Required: inside another course | Class of 2029 | No statewide standalone credit; personal financial literacy is embedded within the required Government/Economics course, part of the 4.0-credit Social Studies block. Schools must additionally offer a standalone Financial Literacy course, but students are not required to take it | HB 171 (2024), 'Public School Graduation Requirements' (signed Feb. 9, 2024), carrying forward the embedded personal-financial-literacy language first added by HB 126 (2023); Social Studies Standards at 6.29.11 NMAC (2022) | View page |
|---|
| North Dakota | Required: inside another course | Not listed | 0.5 unit if a district elects the stand-alone course option; otherwise no dedicated credit — content is embedded within existing required Economics or Problems of Democracy coursework | N.D. Century Code § 15.1-21-21 ('Financial literacy — Concepts of personal finance — Inclusion in curriculum'), amended and reenacted by HB 1533 (2025), which added the half-unit stand-alone course option | View page |
|---|
| Oklahoma | Required: inside another course | Class of 2029 | 0.5 unit (one-half credit) if a district chooses the standalone option; otherwise no fixed credit (content embedded in existing courses or delivered via OSDE online modules) | Passport to Financial Literacy Act — HB 1476 (2007), codified at 70 O.S. § 11-103.6h; substantially amended by HB 2158 (2024), Laws 2024, c. 264 | View page |
|---|
| South Dakota | Required: inside another course | Not listed | 0.5 credit (one-half unit) of personal finance OR economics, across the base diploma and all Advanced Endorsement tracks | ARSD 24:43:11:02(6) — South Dakota Board of Education Standards administrative rule ('one-half unit of personal finance or economics'); no statute mandates standalone personal finance | View page |
|---|
| Standards-based: 5 states |
|---|
| Colorado | Required: meet state standards | Not listed | Must meet the Colorado Academic Standards for Financial Literacy; the requirement may be met through coursework aligned to the standards | HB25-1192 (Financial Literacy Graduation Requirement) | View page |
|---|
| Hawaii | Required: meet state standards | Class of 2030 | No separate credit: students complete a financial literacy educational opportunity and document it through the Personal Transition Plan (PTP), itself a required half-credit course. Delivery is flexible (standalone elective, integrated into existing courses, self-paced, or another instructional design). | HIDOE administrative financial literacy graduation requirement (announced January 9, 2026). SB2407 (2024) proposed a statutory one-course requirement but was not enacted. | View page |
|---|
| New Hampshire | Required: meet state standards | Class of 2027 | Ed 306.27 lists one-half (0.5) credit in economics, including personal finance; NH DOE's technical advisory calls personal finance literacy a stand-alone subject requirement and notes that the skills may also be embedded in an existing course | HB 1671 (2022, Chapter 273), adding personal finance literacy to the adequate-education learning areas in RSA 193-E:2-a; HB 1263 (2022) amending RSA 189:10; State Board minimum standards Ed 306.27 | View page |
|---|
| New York | Required: meet state standards | Class of 2030 | Not specified in our data | Board of Regents amendment to §100.2(c) of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education (new paragraphs (13)-(14)); no PF-specific statute enacted | View page |
|---|
| Rhode Island | Required: meet state standards | Class of 2024 | Flexible demonstration: a course, project, assessment, or other approved means of meeting the financial literacy standards | R.I. Gen. Laws 16-22-13 (financial literacy) — H 5491 / S 0092 (2021) | View page |
|---|
| Standards, not required: 5 states |
|---|
| Alaska | Standards only, not required to graduate | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not listed | View page |
|---|
| Maryland | Standards only, not required to graduate | Not applicable | Not applicable | COMAR 13A.04.06, 'Personal Financial Literacy Instructional Programs' (adopted by the Maryland State Board of Education, June 2010); no statewide graduation-requirement statute in force | View page |
|---|
| Massachusetts | Standards only, not required to graduate | Not applicable | Not applicable | Chapter 438 of the Acts of 2018 ('An Act Relative to Financial Literacy in Schools,' amending G.L. c.69 §1Q) — a permissive framework that does not mandate instruction | View page |
|---|
| Vermont | Standards only, not required to graduate | Not applicable | Not applicable | No PF graduation mandate enacted. VT State Board of Education adopted Jump$tart National Standards (Jan. 17, 2018); Education Quality Standards §§2120.5 & 2123.2 require districts to instruct and assess financial literacy. Act 73 of 2025 directed AOE to recommend new statewide graduation requirements. | View page |
|---|
| Washington | Standards only, not required to graduate | Not applicable | Not applicable | No PF graduation-requirement law enacted. Standing framework: RCW 28A.300.450-.468 (Financial Education Public-Private Partnership, est. 2009) and 2SSB 5720 (2022). Graduation-requirement bills HB 1915 (2024), 2SHB 1285 (2025-26), and SB 5849 (2026) all failed. | View page |
|---|